Jenny Hughey – Canterbury (Co-chair)

Jenny is a qualified teacher and lawyer admitted in Queensland. She recently updated her skills through finishing an LLM (Hons Auckland Uni).  She has spent over 30 years working towards social justice. She has volunteered in Community Law for many years and was on the Board of Marlborough Community Law and is currently on the Board of Community Law Canterbury. She has worked in the unions, the Human Rights Commission, in prison advocacy, local government and in community organisations. She has held a range of appointments including as an official visitor in prisons, a commonwealth environmental inquiry commissioner, an investigator under Whistle Blower provisions and a University Halls of resident mediator in Australia. She has consulted widely on employment related matters.  She is currently the chair of Mediation Services, a free community mediation provider.

Jenny Hughey

Jason Pou – Rotorua (Co-chair)

Jason is on the board of the Rotorua District Community Law Centre, and is a trustee on a number of charitable trusts. In his legal practice he regularly advises small to medium sized businesses, iwi trust boards, rūnanga and not for profit organisations.

Jason Pou

Tom Crystal Harris – Waitematā

Tom is the manager for Waitematā Community Law Center and is a trustee on a number of local community groups and trusts within the Waitematā region. Tom also participates in advisory groups which include the district courts, NZ Police, Iwi leadership groups and local marae.

Tom Crystal Harris

Caryl O’Connor – Otago

Caryl is a qualified lawyer and manages Community Law Otago. She has extensive governance experience including with the Dunedin College of Education Childcare Management Committee, the Dunedin Parents Centre, and the YWCA of Aotearoa New Zealand – Auckland, and advises many Otago community groups on establishment and governance issues. She has a strong grounding and education in tino rangitiratanga and kāwanatanga concepts and application in relation to the articles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

Caryl O'Connor

Rachel Mullins – Waikato

Rachel Mullins (Ngāti Kahungunu, Kāi Tahu) studied law so she could become a voice for those who do not otherwise have a voice. She has worked for Ngāi Tahu Māori Law Centre, has been an executive member of Te Hunga Roia Māori o Aotearoa (NZ Māori Law Society) and from 2014 to 2016 was the Tūmuaki Wahine/Co-President. She is currently Chairperson of her children’s kura Board of Trustees. Her legal practice is predominately in the Māori Land Court and Waitangi Tribunal. Rachel is also regularly engaged by Boards of Trustees as an independent investigator in school matters.

Rachel Mullins

Allan Hall – Gisborne

Allan Hall is a retired Gisborne Solicitor who specialised in Family Law and Māori Land Law, was Gisborne Coroner and a Gisborne District Councillor. He now provides pro bono support to Tairāwhiti Community Law Centre, is Co-Chair of a local advisory committee for CCS Disability and is President of Gisborne U3A.

Allan Hall

Sara-Jane Elika

Sara-Jane is a Director of ECG, a boutique full-service consultancy which provides a range of services for both public and private sector clients. She is Chair for Community Law South Auckland, Failoa Famili trust, a Director for Good Shepherd NZ, Trustee for CLCA, Sports Chaplaincy NZ and a ministerial appointee for Pacific Media Network.

In 2020 she has been recognised as a 40 Under 40 Business Leader from the University of Auckland Alumnus, and a finalist in the “NZ Women of Influence” awards for her contribution to Arts and Culture. Her key strengths include leadership analysis, stakeholder engagement, employment relations, policy and cultural intelligence.

Sara-Jane Elika

Hazel Armstrong – Wellington

Hazel Armstrong is a lawyer specialising in employment, health and safety and ACC.

She joined the CLCA Board in 2018.

Community Law Centres o Aotearoa

Sue Moroney

Chief Executive Officer
Community Law Centres o Aotearoa

Sue has spent her working life advocating for social justice. She is a former trade unionist and journalist and law-maker.

Sue was a Member of Parliament 2005-2017, where she championed the extension of Paid Parental Leave to 26 weeks, ensured workers had a legal right to rest and meal breaks, campaigned for pay equity and exposed significant fraud in the Ministry of Transport and extravagant spending at Waikato DHB which led to the high-profile resignations.

Hailing from the Waikato, Sue has a strong interest in ensuring access to justice to people, wherever they may live in Aotearoa, New Zealand.

Level 2, 15 Dixon Street, Wellington
PO Box 24005, Wellington 6142
Aotearoa New Zealand

Haimona Te Nahu

Kaitakawaenga/National Māori Co-ordinator
Community Law Centres o Aotearoa

Haimona is of Te Arawa, Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Kahungunu, Te Whānau o Hunaara, Te Aitanga a Hauiti and Ngāti Porou decent.  He is a Kōhanga Reo / Kura Kaupapa Māori graduate who completed his legal training out of Waikato and practised as a solicitor at the Rotorua District Community Law Centre for two years. He is the father of two girls, the husband to Ngawiki Ashby and in his spare time loves to go pig-hunting for kai.


Haimona Te Nahu
back to top